Pincodes of India

The vastness and extremity of India is known to one and all. With a population of over a billion people, locating a particular area of person becomes extremely difficult. That's when the PIN or Postal Index Number comes handy. Various methods were tried to geographically pin-point every region in the country. But the best method was devices by the India Post, which comes under the jurisdiction of the Indian Postal Administration. According to the technique, the Pin Code corresponds to the numbering of the post office of the area. The PIN system came into existence on the Independence Day, 15th of August, of the year 1972, and is still prevalent due to its effectiveness and efficiency. In fact, each and every area is uniquely identifiable with the help of Postal Index Number.

The entire nation has been divided into 9 PIN Zones, covering every state and union territory. While '1' signifies the northern part of the country, '7' implies East and North-East region. On the other hand, '3' has been reserved for Western stretch, and '5' and '6' for Sothern part of India. '9' has been specially crafted for Field Post Office and Army Post Office. The Pin Code comprises of 6 digits, each of which hold a specific meaning, either as a group, or individually. The first digit stands for region in India, the 2nd one implies sub-region and the 3rd one specifies the sorting district present in that region. The last three together demarcates the individual post office code in that region. So, whether it is the deep mountains of Kashmir, or the barren sands of Rajasthan, you will be able to send your letter exactly to the person you want.

Below is full list of pin codes of various states of India like Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Maharastra, Uttar Pradesh, Orissa, West Bengal and Rajasthan.

Sr. No. State Country
1 Andaman Nicobar India
2 Andhra Pradesh India
3 Arunachal Pradesh India
4 Assam India
5 Bihar India
6 Chandigarh India
7 Chhattisgarh India
8 Dadra Nagar Haveli India
9 Daman Diu India
10 Delhi India
11 Goa India
12 Gujarat India
13 Haryana India
14 Himachal Pradesh India
15 Jammu Kashmir India
16 Jharkhand India
17 Karnataka India
18 Kerala India
19 Lakshadweep India
20 Madhya Pradesh India
21 Maharashtra India
22 Manipur India
23 Meghalaya India
24 Mizoram India
25 Nagaland India
26 Orissa India
27 Puducherry India
28 Punjab India
29 Rajasthan India
30 Sikkim India
31 Tamil Nadu India
32 Tripura India
33 Uttar Pradesh India
34 Uttarakhand India
35 West Bengal India
Copyright 2015 All rights reserved.